top of page

What's happening now?

5 - 11 Feb.


So as I did more research into book covers, as much as I love them and want to work in the industry, it wasn't the most convincing research topic. I'm also very interested in current affairs (as one should be), and undeniably we're living through history that will surely be documented.

Any content about the pandemic will be recorded as a first-hand account. The quarantine, social distancing, the panic buying, the elections, the potential wars, the vaccines, the vaccinations, the disbelief, the coming war, it's been historical guys.


Key moments of COVID-19 pandemic | Reuters this article contains the key news moments from the last two years, years that people's lives changed in. It's like all of us hit pause on our lives, and looked out, really out.


First off, people were too close, and too far. Pollution dropped drastically, more so than ever before. Travel dropped a lot, and people were no longer taking flights or trains for a long time. We worked and studied online, the world went from face to face conversations to facetime conversations. People thought long and hard about their work, and quit their jobs for different lives.


Some industries boomed, while many stumbled and had a bad fall. All of us adapted and changed. The way we consumed things was changing, and so the people creating these products has to change things too.


Supply for most things was lower than demand, and this led a lot of people to turn to their local suppliers and alternatives.


People picked up hobbies in the pandemic, games, languages, crafting. Admit it, all of us wanted to try that Dalgona Coffee, and I did - many times.


The world changed, and it's important. What we create now, we will never have the chance to create something as raw and real about the pandemic. What can we as designers do? What have we done? These are all questions I have.


So I did research, this was a sharp turn to take about my topic but it felt compelling enough

that I wanted to at least look at it. Whether I would use it, is an entirely different thing.


If I wrote about everything I read, this would be too long, however, I will leave the links I read through.


Research

Comentarios


bottom of page