top of page

Final Showcase

I have three finished scrolls at the very end. Each scroll uses the same designs and text. However, all three are on different papers. Since the stitching was hand done, they look different and the cloth used is very different. I also used different colours of thread for the enclosure and different buttons. I did not have the same buttons and I do not believe using the same button would have looked good either.


This project was very special for many different reasons. I learned to do so many different things. From the screen printing process to letterpress, to drilling holes and woodwork, laser cutting and varnishing a box, sewing with a sewing machine, and hemming. At every point, I had been planning for every contingency, and yet the results came out truly bespoke because with every handmade process there was that uniquely different look to every print, every stitch, every box and every cut.


I set out to showcase a hero's journey, how he was born and how he grows, but throughout this journey that I went out, unwittingly I may have mirrored his story. I met so many wonderful people who taught me so much, giving me their advice and experience freely. At every point even with the mistakes, I made I had made so much progress, I had learned so much that the project was worth it. I have grown as an artist. I know so much more now, compared to me a year ago.


I still feel like I could've done better, and I see the mistakes I made and the things I could've done differently. I also realise that because I was so new to all these processes, I had no idea of their limitations. I've been told that in many ways I pushed these processes to their extremes, doing things that they may not have been able to do, and through some stroke of luck I have succeded, and I am all the better for it.


Cale's story goes now with the new book Laws of Hunting, just so does my story. I have just begun on my odyssey into book design and printmaking, this was but a first chapter in the deep and beautiful world of design. I am very grateful and thankful to all the people who helped make this project a reality. From a figment of an idea in my mind 4 months ago to a physical object I held in my hand today, unrolling it for people to see, it's been an amazing journey.



Commenti


bottom of page