top of page

Finishing the scroll

To finish the scrolls, now that I had the pieces all sewn, all I have to do is hem the pieces of book cloth and silk and attach them to the scroll. Finally, glue the cloth to the dowel and attach a button closer.


I bought some silk to use for the cloth attachments, but silk was too flimsy, and not rigid enough. I used silk for the newsprint scroll and I did not get the measurements right. I had to do the hemming a few times because I did not do the ironing of the folds well for the first piece. For the closer piece of the silk attachment, I inserted a piece of greyboard and then hemmed that into place. For the hemming, I used a running stitch with a setting for 2 distances and 2 lengths. The book cloth was much easier to hem and easier to work with. It also felt sturdier and felt like it would be more durable as protection. I made a mistake when putting it on for the shogi, and the black book cloth was attached white side out. I fixed that for the Himalayan scroll.



When glueing the scroll to the dowel I messed up the first two, the newsprint and the shogi. The scroll opens with the content side out, I had already glued on the Himalayan sheet but I had enough time and I quickly took it apart and set it right.


I finally attached the button and the closure, and with that, the scroll was completed. All that was left was for the scroll to dry. Addie had previously bought a lot of buttons at a charity shop for her project, I took some from her collection for the scrolls. I feel like I found some very perfect buttons for each of the scrolls.


Комментарии


bottom of page