top of page

Using on the Prologue



Writing the first chapter helped me see that I did not want to use the first chapter. The book I am trying to represent is over 700 chapters long, and it isn't very logical to use the first chapter to show it to others. All the things that are important and make a monumental difference to me are scattered about, and there is no way for me to pick a particular chapter or paragraph that would make sense and be true.


I decided that perhaps using the prologue would be the best idea. I wanted to illustrate scenes and imagery from the books, that is important to the story and the characters, to draw out the prologue.


The prologue has 9 segments:


When I opened my eyes, I was inside a novel.

Line 1: section 1


Pages of a novel falling. Space between the image and text? Negative space printed? Is the book what you see? Or is it everything else around the book? Is it the written words or the world he is in? Is it what happens or what is happening?


[The Birth of a Hero].

Line 2: section 2


Birth? Hero? This is the name of the novel. A hero is born? Birth is a painful process. He learns to become a hero. He isn’t one at the start, he doesn’t think he should care or do anything but he starts to care.

What signifies birth? What signifies a hero?


Roots growing out.


[The Birth of a Hero] was a novel focused on the adventures of the main character, Choi Han, a high school boy who was transported to a different dimension from Earth, along with the birth of the numerous heroes of the continent.

Line 3: Section 3


Two dimensions. Two worlds? Continent? Heroes, earth, main character.


I became a part of that novel as the trash of the Count’s family, the family that oversaw the territory where the first village that Choi Han visits is located.

Line 4: section 4


Cale, family, henituse territory


The problem is that Choi Han becomes twisted after that village, and everyone in it, are destroyed by assassins.

Line 5: section 5


Village, murder, death, twisted.


The bigger problem is the fact that this stupid trash who I’ve become doesn’t know about what happened in the village and messes with Choi Han, only to get beaten to a pulp.

Line 6: section 6




“…This is going to be a problem.”

…큰일인데?


“…this seems like a big deal.”


Line 7: section 7


I feel like something serious has happened to me. 

조금 큰일이 나에게 일어난


Line 8: section 8


But it was worth trying to make this my new life.

Line 9: section 9



Comments


bottom of page