top of page

Plan for the scroll


I feel like I have an idea for what I would like the scroll to look and feel like, as well as the processes I am going to use to get there.


For the paper, I want something thin and strong that complements the black illustrations. For now, I am planning to use Shogi Paper - Rice paper. I want it to be a representation for human life, humanity through its strong and thin quality.


The Scroll itself unfurls and needs to be read my scrolling down, signifying the journey, the odyssey. I plan to stitch the segments together using red thread to symbolize destiny, as well as stand for Cale himself, and his journey as he rewrites destiny and fate. Through the hand-lettered words I want the ideas of self, choice and freedom to shine through.


I want a wooden handle to be used for the scroll, through it I want to symbolize nature, the world and stability. Using cloth at the beginning and end I want to weave the past and the present. Using the black illustrations I want to emphasize the simplicity of the images and their significant message. I plan to make a box so that the scroll may sit in it safely.


To get the illustrations on the shogi I want to screen print onto it, after that I plan to use dip pens to write the text. I want to make the dowels and stitch the segments together. I also want the clothe to be connected to the top and the bottom so the clothe can stick to the dowel and act as a protective cover for the scroll when kept closed.

Comments


bottom of page