top of page

Making the illustrations – pages 1 & 2

I'm working with a font that looks like a handwritten font, I plan on writing the text handwritten, but I am also thinking about using letterpress. I want the text to be careful and personal so something that requires time and concentration.


Print Out #1

I started with the first page, which is the first segment with the sentence "When I opened my eyes, I was inside a novel." I wanted to draw a book with pages falling out like the book had lost control of the story and could no longer predict what was going to happen. Going into the second page which contains just the title of the book, "The Birth of a Hero." The tree I drew was just black at first but I really liked how the roots looked on the black with white.

For the third page at first, I drew a circle with each semi-circle depicting a different world, but it just didn't look as good. After drawing the first two I wanted to continue the roots somehow into the third, the two worlds connected by life and trees.

I printed it out as an A4 size sheet and then cut and taped them together to form a scroll much smaller than the actual one will be.


Sketching and Ideas

I don't quite like how the branches in the tree flow into each other, so I want to work on that. Although I like the illustration I did for the third page I don't like how it's sudden and stilted. I was planning on having it blend in with ink splatters, but I want to try drawing roots of some kind. I have added the text onto the pages and took this opportunity to sketch onto the paper my ideas for the next two-three pages.


Comments


bottom of page