top of page

Making Illustrations 8 & 9

Adelaide, a friend of mine from the illustration MA, helped me sketch out some ideas for the eighth and ninth pages. I was thinking about using the five elements that Cale gets his powers from and adding an additional element referring to the crown that gives him an important power and clue, as well as a counterpart to the main antagonist for The Birth of a Hero. I also thought about how I could sketch the shield and the wings, Addie sketches out some different versions.


I worked on the alternate connector from the fourth to the fifth page, using another splash-like structure. For the seventh page, I tried two alternate options, putting the test inside the water ripples and outside the water ripples. I felt that the text on the black was too much ink and would be too heavy on the black so I decided to change that. I added the wings and the shield along with the feathers but it didn't look the way I wanted in the black. In the book, the wings are silver and are described to look holy. I decided to switch to a black background and white illustrations.

Print Out #3

I want to change the place meant of the crown, and just in general move things around a little so they fit better. I want to leave enough space for the text.







Comments


bottom of page