top of page

Making illustrations 3 & 4


For the fourth page, I wanted to incorporate mountains, stone and rock somehow. the paragraph itself is about Cale's family which governs the region known as the land of boulders and is known for its marble. Going down to the fifth page I was hoping to use vines to connect the two, a reference to the jungle that Cale visits early in the story, his own power involves growing roots.


On the fifth and the sixth page, I wanted to show the violence and conflict referred to by the text, but I didn't want anything overt. For the seventh page, I wanted to bring in a gorge because the first war in the book is fought on a gorge, as the sentence talks about a problem, I wanted the first sign of serious problems to be portrayed. I started working on the eighth page, but I couldn't think of what I could draw for the last two pages.


I printed out this version so I could see what it looked like till now.





Print Out #2

I really dislike the vines between the fourth and the fifth page. It looks bulky and doesn't have the detail I was imagining in my mind. I also dislike how it connects to the marbled splash on the fifth page. I really dislike how the sixth page looks. The text looks cramped and the shape seems more flowery than anything else. I am happy with the seventh page, I also really like the smoke clouds going into the eighth page. I took the opportunity to sketch ideas for the last two pages. I wanted to somehow show Cale's shield and it's wings. I was thinking of drawing an ornate chair to show his position as a Count's son, but I am not very sure.


Comments


bottom of page