top of page

Collecting Resources

During the second semester, while collecting items for the Utopia brief, I also collected materials for the project, and the artist's books I was planning on making in the third semester. I started once I had figured out I wanted to work with a physical book of some kind.


I collected wallpaper from a few different people, scrapbooking material and decorative paper from some people. I bought some paint and collected some paint as well. I also collected some curtain swatches and cloth to see if I could use that. I ended up buying the bookbinding tools and materials at the ECA shop.


I needed a bone folder, an awl, bookbinding thread, beeswax, glue brush, PVA glue, paper, book cloth, and greyboard. I also ended up buying a lot of decorative paper and plain copier paper for my first practice notebooks. Some things I already had from previous projects.


I also collected some things from the free-use hub/Eco hub where students leave things. The hole punch, stapler and rotary blade trimmer are from there.


Comments


bottom of page