top of page

Buttonhole Binding

Buttonhole stitch binding is a variation of an open spine binding, I first saw this on Sea Lemon's Youtube channel, the host posts videos of bookbinding and bookmaking. (524) DIY Buttonhole Stitch Bookbinding | Watermelon Notebook | Sea Lemon - YouTube

This video is also a good source for instructions: (524) How to Make a Button Hole Stitch Binding - YouTube.


Gen and I attempted this binding, learning a new style of binding. Although this was arguably the easiest binding technique, I made the most mistakes with this one. I don't like the notebook I made much, but I would definitely try it again simply because it is very easy and there are a lot of simple customizations you can make to this book to make it very interesting. The open spine gives us the ability to play with shows through, we can also customize the shape of the hole. The binding attaches the bottom and the top separately. You can do either half first, after which the second half is much easier.



Comments


bottom of page