top of page

Box Design & Making the Box

For the Box, I designed an illustrator file so I could laser cut and engrave it onto plywood. I plan to use my text from last semester and stain and wax it and then use wood glue to make the boxes. For the showcase, I want to line the inside of the box with silk and add an elevated square to in inner head so that the scroll can sit on top of it.


Gen suggested making a sliding lid box, and so I tried to design a few different ways that I thought would work. I was thinking of engraving the notches or cutting wood pieces to make a space where the sliding lid would sit.

I got a few pieces of leftover birch wood and redwood plywood pieces from the N4 workshop to cut the pieces from. After the cutting was done, each piece was washed and dried so that I could get most of the ash and burn off the wood.

After I cut the pieces I used wood varnish to varnish them. I used a dark oak colour, but it looks warmer than I had anticipated. I still like the look, however, so I decided to work with it.


After waiting two days for the varnish to dry, I wood glued the pieces and then clamped them into place. I have to do a section at a time so it takes some time to make even a single box.


Comments


bottom of page