top of page

A book by any other cover

31 Jan - 11 Feb.


With the proposal submission coming up, I started thinking about what I could research. I felt like book covers were perhaps the most interesting from all the keywords I had pitched to myself. I'm not super convinced by the topic myself, but I have to start somewhere I get further.


My undergraduate dissertation was on film title sequences and their typography, and how that impacted its meaning. Perhaps that is why book covers are interesting to me, the first impression a book makes on its readers relies heavily on its cover design.


Due to the sheer amount of books, blogs, websites and videos I went through, I will be listing them all instead of discussing all of them.


Introduction to Book Cover Design


Chip Kidd: Book Cover Designer Extraordinaire


Books on Cover Design

  • By Its Cover: Modern American Book Cover Design - by Ned Drew, Paul Sternberge

  • Cover to Cover: Creative Techniques for Making Beautiful Books, Journals & Albums - by Shereen LaPlantz

  • New Masters of Poster Design, Volume 2: Poster Design for This Century and Beyond - by John Foster

  • Becoming a Graphic Designer: A Guide to Careers in Design - by Teresa Fernandes

  • Covering Print: 75 Covers, 75 Years - by Print Magazine (Editor), Steven Heller (Editor)

  • The Look of the Book: Jackets, Covers, and Art at the Edges of Literature - by Peter Mendelsund, David J. Alworth

  • Best Practices for Graphic Designers, Grids and Page Layouts: An Essential Guide for Understanding and Applying Page Design Principles - by Amy Graver, Ben Jura

  • The Best of Cover Design: Books, Magazines, Catalogs, and More - by Altitude Associates (Creator) [This was a very interesting read]

  • Penguin by Design: A Cover Story 1935-2005 - by Phil Baines

  • Re-Covered Rose: A Case Study in Book Cover Design as Intersemiotic Translation - by Marco Sonzogni


History of Book Covers


Comments


bottom of page