top of page

Spread No. 1, The Start

First things first, I went onto Unsplash, Pixabay & Pexels looking for images that I could use (providing credit at the end of course).


I started in Photoshop because that's where I feel most comfortable, I decided that I would work on everything but the body text on Photoshop. So this is the first image I decided to work with. I could've cut the statue out, but I actually liked the overcast so I decided to keep it. I used the statue of lady justice because she is often used to represent truth and justice, a measure and balance.


The page next to it, I decided could use an image. This is while I was still experimenting with colors. I knew that I wanted to use red. I love how raw and emotional the colour is, it has a sense of alarm to it, a sense of truth, and yet its so overpowering it starts to obscure. After playing around for a while, I decided I liked this pink It went well enough with the red, and I tried white but actually made the red even stronger, this colour balanced it a little more. Giving it that newspaper, editorial feeling that I had decided on at first.


Once I started typesetting, I realized that the image was too close to the edge, and that the balance looked off, so I brought it down.


You'll notice that the image has a stroke around it, I thought that made it looks more natural.





















I also decided that I wanted the handwritten text, using that as a reflection of his personal touch. The essay is not as removed as newspaper articles should be, he cites personal work, experiences and thoughts. Thus I felt that handwritten notes would feel good here. I hunted for fonts that I liked. The one you see in the spread is the one I decided to finally use, but there's many more I tried, that I personally felt didn't have the same impact as this one. The font I am using is called 'James Tan Dinawanao'.


There are so many, I can't even begin to name them all. The first one in this list is the one I decided to use.

Comentários


bottom of page