top of page

Making the installation & Outcome: White World

Now that I had all the individual items collected, paints, and everything with me I felt like it was time to start working on the installation. Unfortunately the perfect workplace - Evolution had to be shut down. At first, I was hopeful for the reopening in time and pushed back the making of the installation. However after multiple postponing, the final email stating that it would only reopen for the next semester - I had to figure out another workstation.


Additionally, after pushing back the project multiple times, Ernestina had personal issues come up due to which she chose to pull out of the collaboration. However, as we had entirely different components that were meant to work together, I was able to finish my segment of the project without any issues, completing the installation.


I decided to use a common room in my accommodation, setting up a table with black plastic bags.


I tried different methods for paint, using a brush, and a paint roller. I dipped some items into the paint and hung them up to drip dry. I tried finger painting the items. I used paper as a brush, folding the paper to create a sturdy hold. The paper and the finger painting and the dip drying methods were the smoothest.




Because of the nature of the project, a white world that is all the same colour - with different shapes and imperfections in its shapes, I decided to use all the different methods of painting.


I had an apple that bought in December and was dehydrated - I must clearly state that it is not rotten and still looks good, and does not smell rotten. I wanted to use it as one of the centre points of the installation.


I used pages from the book I was given. The book is entirely in German, and is about Rudolf Hess, who was a German politician and a leading member of the Nazi Party in Nazi Germany. Appointed Deputy Führer to Adolf Hitler in 1933, Hess held that position until 1941, when he flew solo to Scotland in an attempt to negotiate peace with the United Kingdom during World War II. He was taken prisoner and eventually convicted of crimes against peace. He was still serving his life sentence at the time of his suicide in 1987.


The pages are the only thing that cross the two planes, connecting them.




The wheel gear and the light bulb are abstract representations of technology, industrialization, and machinery.


I painted all the objects, and then placed them onto the painted board base. After placing them all, and glueing them I waited 2 days to allow them to dry.


After that, I spray painted it white for a final coat.


Final Outcome

In a world of white, the broken, the damaged and the flawed remain. They are engulfed in the monochromatic sheet white, but their forms and shapes remain.



Comments


bottom of page